Heroic Saint-Saëns and Beethoven with 1986 Gold Medalist Kyoko Takezawa and Chih-Yi Chen, piano


Thursday, May 20 – 7:30 PM
Madam Walker Theatre | 617 Indiana Avenue

1986 Gold Medalist Kyoko Takezawa collaborates with pianist Chih-Yi Chen to feature Saint-Saëns’ noble Sonata No. 1, a work which echoes the heroic musical language of Beethoven. The pair also performs Beethoven’s Sonata No. 10 in G, Chopin’s sentimental Nocturne in D-flat, and Bloch’s Baal Shem Suite.

Sonata No. 10 for Piano and Violin in G major,
Op. 96
Baal Shem Suite
Nocturne in D-flat, Op. 27, No. 2
Sonata No. 1 for Violin and Piano in D minor,
Op. 75



The IVCI is extremely grateful for the services of our community’s first responders and health care professionals, and offers a 50% discount on single tickets for the 20/21 Laureate Series to individuals with appropriate identification.

Please select “First Responders” under Ticket Type option.

After purchasing a virtual ticket, you will receive an email with a special link directing you to a webpage. On the date and time of your purchased concert, the live stream of the recital will begin automatically.