Prizes Awarded at 2018 Indianapolis Competition
Gala Awards Ceremony for its Six new Laureates

Following Saturday night’s Finals and subsequent Laureate placement announcement, the International Violin Competition of Indianapolis closed its 10th Quadrennial Competition with its Gala Awards Ceremony at the Scottish Rite Cathedral on Sunday, September 16. Among the festivities were performances by each of the six Finalists and one Semi-Finalist, as well as the Medals and Special Prizes that were bestowed upon the Finalists and two Semi-Finalists. Cash awards were given to each winner, plus to the pianist in the case of a sonata.

Gold Medalist - $30,000
Richard Lin
Sponsored by
Marianne Williams Tobias
Silver Medalist - $15,000
Risa Hokamura
Sponsored by
David and Amy Fulton
Bronze Medalist - $10,000
Luke Hsu
Sponsored by
Kay F. Koch
Fourth Place Laureate - $7,000
Anna Lee
Sponsored by
Dawn M. Fazli
Fifth Place Laureate - $6,000
Ioana Cristina Goicea
Sponsored by
Ice Miller LLP
Sixth Place Laureate - $5,000
Shannon Lee
Sponsored by
Barnes & Thornburg LLP

In addition to the cash prize, Gold Medalist Richard Lin also received the Josef Gingold 24K Gold Medal, designed by Indiana sculptor Dan Edwards. He will also receive a Carnegie Hall Stern Auditorium recital debut, and a new violin case from GEWA Music USA as part of his prize. The Gold, Silver and Bronze Medalists will receive career management for four years, and three of the six Laureates will have the opportunity to use the 1683 “ex-Gingold” Stradivarius, or one of the two winning violins from the IVCI’s 21st Century Violin Search by luthiers Paul Crowley (United States) and Philip Ihle (England) until the next Competition in 2022.

Below is a list of the 2018 Special Prizes.

Best Performance of a Bach Work
Luke Hsu
(Ciaccona from Partita No. 2 in D minor, BWV 1004)
Sponsored by Dr. Timothy Gregg
Best Three Performances of the Paganini Caprices or Milstein’s Paganiniana

Richard Lin
First Place Winner
(Paganiniana Variations)

Elly Suh
Second Place Winner
(Caprice Nos. 5 and 11)

Risa Hokamura
Third Place Winner
(Caprice Nos. 2 and 11)
Sponsored by Alan and Laura Mendelsohn

Best Performance of an Encore Work
Elly Suh
(Ravel Pièce en forme de Habanera)
The Thomas J. Beczkiewicz Founding Director’s Award
Best Performance of a Mozart Sonata
Violin: Luke Hsu
Sponsored by The Kwok Family
Piano: Chih-Yi Chen
Sponsored by Joo and Stephen Boe
(Sonata in A major, K. 305)
Best Performance of a Beethoven Sonata
Violin: Anna Lee
Piano: Chih-Yi Chen
(Sonata No. 6 in A major, Op. 30)
Permanently endowed in loving memory of Francis J. Chen and Kuang Jui-fang by their sons, daughters-in-law and granddaughter Victor, Betty, Benjamin, Helen and Heidi
Best Performance of William Bolcom’s
Suite No. 3 for Solo Violin
Stephen Kim
Title Sponsor
Christel DeHaan Family Foundation
Associate Sponsor
Charles and Carol Ward
in memory of their parents
Best Performance of an Ysaÿe Sonata
Shannon Lee
(Sonata No. 5 for Solo Violin, Op. 27)
Sponsored by Rosalie Held
in memory of Robert C. Held
Best Performance of a Sonata other than Beethoven
Anna Lee
(Saint-Saëns Sonata No. 1 in D minor, Op. 75)
Sponsored by Beverly A. Miller
Best Performance of a Kreisler Encore
Richard Lin
(Tambourin chinois)
Awarded by an anonymous donor
in honor of Dorothy DeLay
Best Performance of a Classical Concerto
Anna Lee
(Mozart Violin Concerto No. 1 in B-flat, K. 207)
Andrew J. Paine, Jr. Award
Best Performance of a Concerto in the Finals
Richard Lin
(Bruch Scottish Fantasy for Violin and Orchestra, Op. 46)
Sponsored by Kathy and Lou Daugherty in memory of
Cynthia Matthews and her support of the
Juried Exhibition of Student Art